top of page

US Oil & Gas Association

Advocate for the Oil & Gas Industry Since 1917

USOGA is unique among oil & gas associations. Formed in October 1917, USOGA has been the industry’s successful advocate in Washington D.C. and in State Capitols for over 100 years. Cooperating under common by-laws established in 1917, USOGA is located in Washington, D.C. and has four divisions:

Texas Oil & Gas Association in Austin, Texas
The Petroleum Alliance of Oklahoma in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
US Oil & Gas Association, Mississippi/Alabama Division in Jackson, Mississippi
Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil & Gas Association in Baton Rouge, Louisiana

USOGA is dedicated to educating the public, policymakers, and legislators at the federal state and local levels about the value of domestic oil and natural gas exploration and production to enhancing national security and economic vitality.

USOGA, in its entirety, represents over 5,000 members. Members with diverse interests and numerous corporate identities from the smallest producers to the largest, from public companies to individual or family owned. But they unite under USOGA’s flag with a common goal to do what’s best for all.

The mission of USOGA is to promote national public policy that supports exploration and production for the domestic oil and natural gas industry.

Petroleum concept. Oil pump rig. Oil and gas production. Oilfield site. Pump Jack are runn

Our History

The US Oil & Gas Association (originally the Mid-Continent Oil & Gas Association) was founded in October 1917 in Tulsa, Oklahoma, following the United States’ entry into World War I. A principal purpose of the Association’s foundation was to provide essential supplies of petroleum and petroleum product to the allied forces, helping the Allies, “ float to victory upon a wave of oil.” The US Oil & Gas Association’s contribution to that success helped establish it as an Association in which individuals working cooperatively could resolve mutual problems and achieve great results.
For more than eight decades, in good times and bad, the Association has been a strong advocate for the individuals who built and sustain the U. S. petroleum industry. The Association’s long history is one of distinguished service to the petroleum industry and to our country’s economic and strategic stability. It is recognized today as “...a proven and respected advocate for producers of domestic oil and gas.”

Board of Directors

J. Roe Buckley


Todd Staples

Texas Oil & Gas Association

Rick J. Calhoon

Ralph F. Cox

William "Randy" James

John H. Lollar

Joseph I. O'Neill, III

Mark Richard

David Russell

Alan Smith

W. Allen Custard, III

Timothy Stewart


Brook Simmons

The Petroleum Alliance of Oklahoma
Louisiana Mid-Continent Oil & Gas Association

Tommy Faucheux


Thurmon Andress

Alex Campbell

Margaret Cooper

Eric Hambly

Michael Minarovic

Jim Hutchinson

David W. Killam

Walter G. "Tad" Mayfield

Tyler Radbourne

Corbin J. Robertson

Bobby S. Shackouls

J. C. "Rusty" Walter, III

AW Downing Mears, Jr.

Taylor Reid

Pamela Roth

Patrick Sullivan

John H. Young

Scott Anderson

bottom of page